top of page

Rainbow Crepe Cake Recipe



My Spring 2022 classes just started last week and I decided to reward myself by making a Rainbow Crepe Cake.


Baking Quote of the Day


You don't have to love cooking to cook, but you do have to do more than love baking to bake. You have to bake out of love." - Tom Junod.

Original Recipe Tutorial



Ingredients

5 Eggs

65g Sugar

1g Salt

5g Vanilla extract 

250g Cake flour 

625g Milk

90g Melted unsalted butter Food coloring (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, white)

Whipped cream (500g whipping cream + 50g sugar)


Rating & Comment


Cooking the Crepes One By One in a Frying Pan at 10:00PM Was an Interesting Experience"

Taste: I would give it a 8/10. My neighbor loved the whipping cream; however, I could not enjoy it that much since I am lactose intolerant.

Time: It took me 2 days to achieve this result. One day to make the crepe, the second day to make the whipping cream. Overall, I will say I spent: 4 hours baking and cooking. 2 hours trying to beat the heavy cream and pipe it.

Difficulty: I would give it a 5/10. The recipe is overall easy to follow, I miss and match some steps such as adding the butter and salt when the butter was cold (not the best idea). However, it didn't affect the taste much. The hardest part was to flip the crepe without breaking them and cleaning the buttery bowl.

Comment: Overall, really nice experience. I would not redo it anytime soon since it is quite time consuming and too "heavy on the stomach" for a desert. However, this cake would be perfect as a birthday or celebration cake.

Comments


bottom of page