top of page

How Taught High School Students Coding in 2 Months?



The tool my students use to learn coding is called CODE.ORG. A great web application that explains step-by-step the logic behind every code and challenges the user to debug, modify the code to meet their needs, and code their own application from scratch.


Quote of the Day

"Whether you want to uncover the secrets of the universe, or you just want to pursue a career in the 21st century, basic computer programming is an essential skill to learn." - Stephen Hawking

Can You Learn to Code in Less than 2 Months?

The answer would obviously be "YES!". I witnessed students who never had any prior knowledge or experience in coding, code a whole educational app in 1 month. It took 1 month to learn the basics, principles, logistics, and another month to put their knowledge into application.


During their second month, I stayed behind them, guiding them through the brainstorming project, helping them debug their code, and providing them the necessary support to bring their applications to light.


One day, I just finished my classes and was about to go home, when I saw that the class teacher reached out to me and asked if I could help the student add a component to their functionality. It was a space application that allows the user to learn more about the planets in the solar system.


I spent 2 hours trying to figure out how to explain the logical process behind the functionality they wanted. It was difficult to format it into an email. However, I was able to finish the explanation by 10:00 PM and share it with the teacher. The teacher was satisfied with the explanation and I was happy to see that I was able to make someone else day better.


Volunteering as a teacher assistant for Microsoft, early in the morning, before my classes start, every Tuesday and Thursday is challenging. However, knowing that as a college student I have the opportunity to impact and guide the younger generation makes this journey worthwhile.


Related LinkedIn Post









コメント


bottom of page